Batternberg Cake

Photo0047

Oh so classic.

My wee son saw this on a recipe book and asked me to make one, so I made one to take with us to my father-in-law. (June 2013)

The recipe uses only apricot jam to stick cake parts and marzipan, but I had left over butter icing, so I  mixed jam and butter icing.

My husband likes marzipan, but I wasn’t a fan at first. It’s not what I grew up with and it tastes too sweet sometimes. I used shop bought marzipan, but I choose the best one I can get at the shop, meaning the one with highest almond content. Good quality marzipan tastes more like almond and I like the flavour of it now. I guess I should attempt to make marzipan myself sometime.

(June 2013)

One thought on “Batternberg Cake

Leave a Reply

