White Tin Loaf

P1060604 (640x481)Simple white tin loaf.

A freshly baked simple white loaf is a treat.
This one is open top, mountain shape loaf, which is (apparently) good for toasting. However, we love these loaf so much that we just eat them with butter and jam.

I’ve make this loaf time to time, but something is different now.

The mountain is higher than ever.

I found a great flour for this loaf at a supermarket. It’s super strong Canadian flour with 14.8% protein! (Sainsbury’s Taste Difference Very Strong Canadian Bread Flour)

You can buy strong flour made with British wheat,  which I would normally buy, with protein content of 12.6% (Tesco’s Strong Flour)or so.
Some brand’s strong flour is bit more higher in protein content, above 13% protein content, but I haven’t seen over 14% before.

My heart jumped when I saw this flour. Such an excitement for home baker!

I used my usual recipe I use for open top loaf, and the result was so different and wonderful. You could feel it even when you are kneading it. Much strong, big volume loaf=higher mountains. Bouncy and tasty, as white loaf should be. (bit closer to Japanese baker’s ‘hotel bread’)
I was so surprised that protein (gluten) level actually affects volume of the loaf so much. If I was making closed top square loaf, I’d need to adjust recipe accordingly.

P1060605 (481x640)

P1060606 (640x481)

This flour is not for all the bread I make. It will be best kept for loafs which I want a bit of bounce and chewiness, and some bread which mix with other ingredients that affects bread raising.

Oh, what a wonderful thing I found.
And I am happy that a small thing like this can make my day.

White Tin Loaf

  • Servings: 1.5 lb bread tin
  • Time: 4hrs - 5hrs, depending on room temperature
  • Difficulty: intermediate
  • Print

strong flour…….350g (for mountain shape loaf, if you like to bake with lid on, reduce to 330g and adjust quantity of ingredients below accordingly.)
yeast………………3g
sugar……………..15g
salt………………….3g
milk (just slightly warm or room temperature) …….240-250cc
butter…………….20g

1. Knead dough, without butter for 5 min using a mixer. Or knead by hand for bit longer.
2. Add butter, and knead further 5 min. This bread really needs good kneading. Dough will be silky smooth.
3. Place dough in lightly oiled bowl and leave in warm place for 90min to 2 hours, until the dough is double in size. It will get nice and big.
4. Gently take the dough out in lightly floured surface. Divide the dough into 2 or 3. (The picture above on this post is 3 mountains, but I often do just 2) Gently form the dough into a ball, take bench time for 20 min, covered with plastic or tea towel.
5. Shape the dough: take each ball, flatten them gently, take top 1/3 and fold down. lift bottom 1/3 and fold up. pinch the joint gently to stick. Dough is now fat sausage shape. Flat them a little, then roll. Do same for the rest, and place them in oiled tin.
6. Leave to rise for second time, covered, in warm place for 45 min to 1 hour or so, till it’s head come out the tin. (or up to 80% of the tin, if you are going to use a lid)
7. Bake in the preheated oven 220C for about 30min.
(when I am using a lid, I bake it for 22min, turn off oven and leave it in for 15 min.)
8. As soon as it comes out of oven, take it out of the tin, leave it to cool in wired lack. Once cooled enough, slice and enjoy!

8 thoughts on “White Tin Loaf

  1. Hi there, just came across your blog saw your very nice white tin loaf! I have been trying to make Japanese Shokupan bread like this but it doesn’t seem to turn out anything like yours. Sorry for the superficial question but do you mind sharing your recipe for this?

    Many thanks!
    Serene

    1. Hi, thank you for the comment. Nice to find someone who like SHOKUPAN! This is exactly it! I will try posting this recipe on this post soon, and give you another reply to let you know. 🙂

      1. Thank you sooo much! Yes i really like Shokupan! I like to cut in thick slice and just have it with butter! Thank you for replying and looking so forward to your
        recipe! Have a very nice day! 🙂

      2. Updated now with recipe! I love the freshly baked loaf with butter, too! and also with jam! I am not so good at describing method on recipe, so if you have question, please ask. 🙂

  2. Thank you sooooo much for the lovely recipe! It’s very kind of you to share and I really I am thankful for this! Ill go get some white strong flour (hopefully I can find!) and let you know the outcome!

    Have a very great weekend ahead!!

Leave a Reply

