Blood Orange Tart

Here we go again, it’s Friday! Yay!!
Happy Fiesta Friday, party mates!

One of my Japanese friend gave me a little leaflet from a patisserie in Japan, Qu’il fait bon. They sell so many different type of tarts, (quite expensive with some whole tarts priced over 6000yen=£40ish,) often decorated with best quality seasonal fruits with matching cream of some sort.

Looking at the leaflet full of fruit tarts, I wanted to make some fruit tarts myself.
I had been buying blood oranges on sale at a local veg shop recently, and they were so juicy and bright with tint of red, so I decided to do make blood orange tart.

P1070003 (640x481)

I wondered what would go with orange?
If I was making a classic strawberry tart, I’ll do with franzipan+patisserie cream+whipped cream. I love this combination, but probably not for orange.

I thought and thought. This was fun. Day dreaming about the tart I’d make.P1070008 (640x481)In the end, I made this with pâte brisée (short crust),  with a base of ‘whole orange+almond cake’, and filled with mascarpone cream with Cointreau. Topped simply with blood orange segment.

Blood Orange Tart

  • Servings: 8
  • Difficulty: intermediate, time consuming
  • Print

pâte brisée
plain flour….175g
salt…..pinch
sugar….1 tbs
butter….125g
egg yolk….1
cold water….about 3tsp

whole orange +almond cake
(which was originally from Nigera Lawson, Clementine Cake, very nice as it is. The recipe below is adjusted to use in this tart.)
small orange/mandline/clementine….60g
ground almond….50g
sugar….40g
egg…..1 L size
baking powder….1/6tsp

mascarpone cream
mascarpone…..250g (a tub)
sugar…. about 3 tbs (you need to check the taste. I cannot remember!)
whipping cream….125cc
cointreau….about 1tbs

1. Make pastry. Food processor or by hand. Put flour, cubed butter, sugar and salt in a food processor, and whizz it it become bread crumb texture.
2. Add egg and about 2 or 3 tsp water, and pulse. Take them out and press to make a ball. Chill in fridge for at least 30min.
3. Roll out the pastry thin, and line the tart dish. Chill again.

4. Cook orange in a small pan, as a whole or just cut in half, with water just covering the orange.
5. Once the orange is soft, take it out of water, and make it into puree using a hand blender. (skin as well, but take out pips)
6. Mix orange puree with almond, sugar, and egg with a whisk.
7.Blank bake the pastry with baking stone/beans for 15 min or so.
8. Fill the base of patry with orange cake filling and bake till filling is baked.

9. Make mascarpone filling. Cream mascarpone cheese with sugar & cointreau. Taste the cheese and see, as you add sugar. (I cannot be sure how much sugar I put in. you just need to adjust it.)
10. Whip whipping cream to soft peak. Add cream to mascarpone cheese. Taste the cream & check the sweetness.

11. Cut orange into segments.
12. Once the tart is cooled, fill the tart with mascarpone cream. Top with orange.
13. If you like you can graze it with sugar syrup with veg gelatine to give it a shine.

P1070005 (640x481)

The tart was really fresh and tasty. Loved the colour of blood orange.
(March 2014)

51 thoughts on “Blood Orange Tart

  1. Ohhh(((o(*゚▽゚*)o))) Thank you very much for the recipe!! I made it after I had yours but I couldn’t remember what was like so I really appreciated it!

    1. Rika-chan, thank you! I hope you find my recipe workable. I don’t have patience to write down the recipe in detail, or jot down quantity I used as I go along. So, please use as an idea. 🙂 Chat soon.

    1. Thank you! The blood oranges at my local shop were tinted with red than completely red, it was sweet and juicy anyway. I use cointreau in mascarpone for tiramisu, and I also love the flavour. 🙂

    1. Thank you for the comment! I love the simple decoration on the tart, especially fruit one when fruits itself are the star. I made another tart with grape recently, I’ll post that soon, too. 🙂

    1. Thank you, Nancy. It was triple orange flavour combination (orange cake, cointreau, orange segment), but I often like those type of simple or classic combination in my cake. This tart wasn’t too sweet and I liked it. 🙂

  2. Oh Weebirdie, you have created an extraordinary tart! So many layers of flavour, all complementing one another! Blood orange season is just about my favourite time of year and you have given us a wonderful recipe to celebrate this with! This is a wonderful dish to bring to FF.

    1. Julianna, Thank you for coming around as co-host! I am having a good fun at FF, looking around other blogs and meeting new bloggers. 🙂 Thank you for the kind words!

    1. Oh, I know, I am not sure if I ever had fresh orange tart myself, so I needed to think what will go with it. It was nice and refreshing tart, not too sweet and juicy with lots of orange!

  3. Weebirdie! This is such a lovely dessert to bring to a party. I love blood oranges in alone, in salads, and now I must try it in a tart form. Thank you for the recipe!

  4. Oh my goodness… this is gorgeous. It is fun when you come up with a recipe to think and think about how you’re going to prepare it… and sometimes one thing leads to another..and before you know it, you have two or three different recipes that you want to create!!
    This one is superb. One that I would proudly serve my most honored guests. Love this. 🙂

    1. Thank you! I like when I meet something new or seasonal, and thinking how to bake with it. At the moment, my local veg shop start selling rhubarb, so I am pondering this and that with rhubarb. I already ate it as crumble and pie.;) It’s a fun part of baking, I think.

Leave a Reply

