Hot Cross Bun

Hot cross buns! Hot cross buns!
One a penny two a penny
Hot cross buns
If you have no daughters,
give them to your sons
One a penny two a penny
Hot cross buns

P1070066 (640x481)

I don’t have any daughters, so I shall bake it for my sons.

We went to an Easter craft fair last weekend, we had a great fun playing outdoor and making  Easter decorations.
It got me in the mood for Easter.
Now, I am emptying an egg with two tiny hole every time I use eggs to make decoration later, buying chocolate eggs and making Easter related treats.

Hot cross bun is one of my wee son’s favourite, as he loves any sweet bread with raisins.

Anyway, I’d like to bake hot cross buns several times before Easter. So far this year, we had them twice already, and not even Easter holiday yet!

P1070074 (640x481)I use this recipe below, original recipe was from Paul Hollywood’s book ‘Bread’. but altered to suits me and my family.  (Actually I realised that BBC food recipe linked above is also slightly different from his recipe on the book)

I like his idea of putting fresh apple inside to make this bun interesting and moist.
We don’t like peel so much, so I changed the peel to cherries. (I also changed a few quantity and method here and there. So, if you are interested in Paul Hollywood’s recipe, please see the link above. )

Hot Cross Bun

  • Servings: 8 buns
  • Difficulty: intermediate, sticky tricky dough for bread beginner
  • Print

<for dough>
strong flour….250g
instant dry yeast….3 g
sugar….35g
salt…2g
milk…..115cc-125cc
egg…..1
butter…20g
cinammon…..tsp1
orange zest….about 1 orange

sultana….70g
natural colour glacé cherry…..40g
apple (sweet one, not cooking type)….smallish one 1/2, chopped into tiny cube

<for cross>
plain flour….20g
water….20g

<for glaze>
apricot jam…1 or 2 tbs

1. Knead flour, yeast, sugar, milk and egg together for 5 min in a mixer with dough attachment.
2. Add butter, orange zest and cinnamon, knead for further 5 min or so. Until it is smooth and elastic. (It is very sticky dough)
3. Put the dough in lightly oiled bowl, rest in warm place for 1 hour or more till the dough is double in size.
4. Take the dough out of the bowl once, mix in sultana, cherry, apple.
5. Put it back in the bowl, leave to raise again for another 1 hour or so.
6. Gently take it out in floured surface, divide into 8 round bun. Try to put fruits inside as much as possible, as raisin on the surface will burn. It’s very sticky at this stage, so use flour on surface and your hands to keep it manageable, but don’t over do it.
7. Place buns in a tray with baking sheet, cover (but not touching the dough) and leave it on warm place for 1 hour till the dough is double in size.
8. Pre-heat oven 190C.
9. Mix plain flour and water to thick paste. Put them in a small piping bag (i usually make one using a baking sheet cut into a triangle ), put cross on each bun.
10. Bake for 15- 20 min till golden brown.
11. Take them out of oven, graze with apricot jam.
12. Once cooled, you can eat them cut in half & spread butter. Enjoy.

P1070068 (640x481)

(April 2014)

11 thoughts on “Hot Cross Bun

  1. I make hot cross buns every year for Good Friday, but so far have not made a recipe I am completely happy with. So thanks for posting and I will give these a try.

  2. Picture perfect…shiny and beautiful! I’ve never made hot cross buns before, but after reading this, I think I need to. They sound delicious!

Leave a Reply

