Kabocha Pumpkin Cream Bun

I bought half a KABOCHA pumpkin (Japanese pumpkin/Kabocha squash) in an Asian supermarket the other day. It has green skin with orange fresh, it’s lot harder than Halloween pumpkins. These pumpkins are floury and sweet when cooked (good quality ones are, at least.)
I cooked some in sweet soya sauce,  and I had 1/4 left to make these pumpkin buns.

P1070224 (640x481)
Kabocha pumpkin cream bun.
It’s very soft and sweet, packed with Kabocha’s goodness (and with a bit of sin of added sugar.)

I refereed to this pumpkin bread recipe on Japanese cooking site (it’s in Japanese), and adjusted ingredients and method to suit me. The original recipe uses strings to make very cute pumpkin shape, so if you got steady hands and time, give it a go. I opted to simple cutting method instead here.

Pumpkin cream bun

  • Servings: 9
  • Time: 3hours
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Pumpkin dough
kabocha pumpkin……..100g (I didn’t have enough Kabocha left, so I used some butternut squash as well)
strong flour……………..250g
easy dry yeast………….3g
salt…………………………2g
sugar………………………20g
honey……………………..1tsp
egg york+milk…………60g
water…………………….60g
butter……………………25g

Pumpkin cream
kabocha pumpkin……..250g
sugar………………………40g
butter…………………….15g

1. cut all the kabocha pumpkin (100g +250g ish) into small pieces, remove skin (but keep some for decoration), and microwave till soft.  (cook a couple of piece of skin as well)
2. using hand blender, make purée of the pumpkin. divide it to 100g and 250g.

3. Make dough. put strong flour, yeast, sugar, salt, 100g of pumpkin, all the liquid in the mixer, and mix for 5 min or so.
4. Then add butter and continue to mix for another 5 min or so.
5. Leave it covered in clean bowl, in a warm place for 90min or till dough is double in size.

6. Make pumpkin cream. Mix 250g pumpkin with sugar and butter. If this is too wet, put it in the pan and cook on low heat to reduce the moisture. If the mixture is too hard (floury), add a tea spoon of milk. It’s depend on the pumpkin, so adjust as you go along.

7. Once dough is ready, divide into 9 equal ball. Set to rest with cover for 15-20 min.
8. Flatten each dough ball, put pumpkin cream in the middle, gather the edge to tuck the cream inside and form nice round shape again.
9. Leave on the baking tray for 1 hour in warm place, covered, till it double in size again.
10. Snip the edge of bun, 6 places. (Original recipe I saw used string to make lovely perfect pumpkin shape, but it would be too fiddly for me, so I opted for this simple method.)
10. Bake in 160C oven for 12-15 min.
11. Once cooled, cut the skin piece you microwaved to small sticks, and stick it on the top.

P1070228 (640x481)

This was one of my attempt to encourage my boys to eat more variety of vegetable. My elder one ate it without looking while he was busy on his computer. My wee one happily ate outside but pumpkin cream couldn’t deceive him.  Well, I like it, so it was a success.

It’s May bank holiday weekend!
Have a nice weekend.
Happy Fiesta Friday!!!

36 thoughts on “Kabocha Pumpkin Cream Bun

  1. Adorable, Weebirdie! Love that they actually do resemble wee little pumpkins. 🙂 They sound delicious and that bit of orange peeking out from the inside, is beautiful. Enjoy your weekend!

  2. A double whammy of pumpkin sounds great. Thanks for the recipe. Fiesta Friday really does offer some great treats, and this is one of them.

  3. So cute! Will try this. Would be perfect for Halloween/Thanksgiving, actually, but I have 2 Black Futsu squash left from last summer. First time growing them; they took over the garden, the monstrous things. 🙂

    1. Yes, it will be great for Autumn.I think the pumpkin I bought must come from New Zealand or Australia. How amazing that you grown those squash! My parents usually grow these type of squash at their veg patch, and they use huge space. I tried a little smaller Hokkaido Kuri Kabocha variety last year, it spread inside my little plastic green house, made a tiny golf ball size squash and that’s it…. I think it is not warm or sunny enough to grow them in Belfast.

  4. Great recipe and cute idea to make them into pumpkin shapes. I will look for Kabocha pumpkins in the late summer/fall. I have never used them before so hopefully my farmer’s market or local grocery will carry them. 🙂

    1. Oh yes, please try it if you see it at the market. This squash is sweeter and denser than the Halloween pumpkins. It’s a lovely vegetable to have. 🙂 Because we don’t grow them here, these squash are quite expensive here, so Asian supermarket I bought this from usually sell it as a quarter or half. It’s easy to carry & try.

  5. What sweet little buns and a clever use of your leftover pumpkin. They look like real small pumpkins–so cute. You have such a talent with presentation, Weebirdie! Happy Friday!

    1. Thank you for coming over! We have sweet rolls/buns called ‘ANN-PAN’ in Japan, usually with sweet Azuki bean paste (ANKO) inside a round roll with poppy seeds on top. As a variation, we use those KABOCHA paste to make KABOCHA ANN. Those rolls/buns can be just round shape, but this one is shaped into cute pumpkin shapes. 🙂

  6. They are so cute!! The pumpkin cream sound delicious, I would love to try it… Your pumpkin buns look pretty neat already, much better than I could do, the string method looks really pretty too. This would be a great little treat at Halloween time. 😀
    Thank you for bringing these cuties to Fiesta Friday!

    1. Thank you! I think I should make them again for Halloween. The string method’s result looks fantastic on her recipe picture, but I found it a bit too fiddly to do in a hurry. I think cutting method is fine for me and kids! 😉 Have a nice weekend!

  7. These are so adorable!! You are such an artist and I love that you did this in an attempt to get your kids to eat more veggies! I would love to try these, Weebirdie! 😀

    1. Thank you, Julianna. I like putting orange colour veg (carrot, butternuts squash, pumpkin etc) into bread dough, so that kids eat them without knowing it. I used pumpkin paste inside so boys realised something was inside, but my wee one didn’t realise that pumpkin was actually inside in the bread dough itself as well! 😉

  8. Ah, it’s Bank Holiday w/end alright! Can’t believe how cold it is. Warmer by Monday, here’s hoping. 🙂 In the meantime, and as it’s as cold as Autumn, I would happily tuck into one of these delicious looking buns. I’ve only ever had pumpkin pie in the states, and loved those.

    1. Nice to meet you, Johnny. 🙂 Is is disappointing weather after warm Easter. These bun will be good for Halloween treat, I shall make them again in Autumn. Oh, you should make pumpkin pie in Autumn too! They are different type of pumpkin/squash but you can buy purée for pumpkin pie in a large supermarket or deli in the UK.

    1. Arigatou, Laura-san! I love Kabocha too, but it is hard to get in here. I tried to grow a couple of years, but no success. I’ve heard that a Japanese couple managed to grow in their green house, so I guess I need to be better at gardening.

Leave a Reply

