Battenberg Checker Board Cake

I need to post about this cake, with my deepest regret, which failed to meet my expectation.

Oh dear, I probably shouldn’t post about this one, but I feel that I need to be honest with my mistake here. In the end, this is a place to share idea and tips, as well as cataloguing my baking.

P1070124 (640x481)

This cake was an order from a friend of mine, a birthday cake for a lady in her 70s.
I was told that birthday lady doesn’t like too much of sweet cake, but she’d take a slice of cake/loaf with her tea.
So, my idea was to make a classic battenberg cake, but with a round checker board style, decorated with vintage design.

The idea was good, I’d thought, because I made battenberg before, and it was lovely, and checker-board surprise will be good as a birthday cake.

Ah…. that’s where my success was ended.
Battenberg I made before was a recipe of Mary Berry, a British home cook queen,  and I found her recipe reliable.  The her coffee and walnuts battenberg is very good, and I altered her recipe to make normal pink battenberg before.

But this time, I needed to make round checkerboard, and I found this recipe. It’s lovely rose and almond batternberg, but I had a few problems.
Problem 1. the recipe’s oven temperature might be too low for my oven. My first batch sank in the middle while baking.
Problem 2. the cake mix of this recipe is too dry. Little less flour made more sense.  I saw some people omitting almond powder to make it less dry on its review, but almond is the key flavour here.

I should have used round checkerboard recipe as a guide, and calculate quantity and used Mary Berry’s recipe for cake base.
But when I realised it, it was too late.  So, I decorated the cake with my sunken heart, as pretty as it could be with vintage decorations.
I  apologised to my friend for dryness of the crumbs, and gave it to her as a present.

P1070127 (640x481)
Vintage style decoration with a touch of Spring.

P1070128 (640x481)

 

2014-04-20 15.06.33 (1) (640x538) A photo of inside the cake my friend send me. It seemed that the cake was well received but a bit crumbly and difficult to cut. If I was to do another one of those, I’d use another recipe for cake base, and I’d reduce its colour to softer pink.

I kept my left over sunken rose sponge in freezer, when I defrosted it to eat the other day, it was more moist. Strange. Freezing made my dry sponge more moist. Learnt new thing again.

(April 2014)

12 thoughts on “Battenberg Checker Board Cake

  1. What a beautiful cake! I’m sure the birthday lady was delighted as I certainly would have been. You are a great resource for baked deliciousness.

    1. Apparently, children at birthday party were fighting over those little flowers, so I was pleased. 🙂 Kids always love those sugar decoration. My wee one was nibbling at left over decoration as well.

  2. Beautifully done, Weebirdie! It’s a shame the cake did not meet your idea of perfection, but I bet it was thoroughly enjoyed! I love the pink checkerboard…it’s stunning…as is the decorating. 🙂

    1. Thank you, Nancy. I get really upset when the cake doesn’t turned out as well as I hoped. But I think I learnt to be careful and double check the recipe before I start baking for important occasion. (or simply try the recipe I am used to make!!)

  3. もう一度お礼を言わせてください。ありがとうございました。カットしたときの、みんなの驚きの声、わ~、という反応がとってもよかったです。次の日も、残りを紅茶とおいしくいただいたそうですよ。

    1. ご注文、ありがとうございました。今回は、ちょっと完璧な出来とはいえず、申し訳ありませんでした!!でも、チェッカーボード、やっぱり驚いてくれたようでよかったです。そうそう、紅茶と残りを少しづつ・・・なんて食べ方が合うケーキですね。またよろしくお願いします。

    1. Thank you, Naina!I thought batternberg being so classic, vintage decoration was quite nice match. My friend who commented above told me that the birthday lady and family were happy with the cake, so I am pleased. 🙂

  4. Weebirdie, I’m sure your friend and the birthday gal loved the cake. I know we are our own worst critics, but you shouldn’t be too hard on yourself. You made one beautiful cake filled with love, time, and effort. 🙂

  5. What a lovely cake inside and especially your decorations outside. A checkerboard cake is fun – my recent one was for the Fourth of July – red, white and blue but my outside decorations were nothing compared to the special cake you created 🙂

Leave a Reply

