Blackberry Buttermilk Sponge

I received a book, “The Great British Bake Off Everyday” as a gift from my friend recently. (Thank you!)

(This image from amazon.co.uk  The link above will take you to Amazon to see the book)

The first recipe in this book instantly caught my eye. I love any berries and I am hooked on baking with buttermilk recently.
P1070310 (640x481)
The recipe called for fresh blackberry but I couldn’t find it at local shops, so I bought a pack of frozen summer fruits mix and pick up blackberry from the mix. I used the rest of fruits (raspberry, black current and red current) to make berry sauce to go with.
P1070312 (640x481)
Blackberry buttermilk sponge cake served with berry sauce and fresh cream.

Simple but great tea time treat!

We can luckily see the original detailed recipe at ‘Amazon’s Look inside’, as this recipe is the first recipe of the book.

The recipe below is altered version as I used frozen fruits.

Blackberry Buttermilk Sponge Cake

  • Servings: 12
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

blackberry ……………about 150g or as much as you got from frozen summer fruit mix (thawed)
unsalted butter (soft)………125g
caster sugar…………………..175g
vanilla essence………………1/2 tea spoon
egg………………………………2
buttermilk……………………100ml
self raising flour……………..200g
demerara sugar………………some

1. Cream butter and sugar till pale and fluffy.
2. Add egg little by little and mix well.
3. Mix vanilla essence.
4. Mix 1/3 of buttermilk, then 1/3 of flour, another 1/3 of buttermilk then 1/3 of flour. The last bit of buttermilk followed by rest of flour.
5. Pour the mixture in lined 21 or 23cm tin, sprinkle demerara sugar.
6. Bake in the pre-heated oven 180C for 30 min or so.

Berry Sauce  (this is not the recipe from the book, my quick easy version)
rest of frozen berries from the pack or 300g of red berry
sugar…….about 2 tbs

1. Put them in a small pan, and bring to boil. That’s it.

Serve the cake warm with berry sauce and cold whipped cream.

I am bit late but joining in the Fiesta Friday again this week. It’s fun to look around all the dishes and post other bloggers bring to the table. Thanks again for Angie and co-hosts for this great party every week.

Have a nice weekend!

27 thoughts on “Blackberry Buttermilk Sponge

  1. Honestly, I never got myself any cookbook. Well, except my Mom’s cookbooks! And those were technically hers and not mine. But I know what you feel of having one (or more). 🙂

    This first thing that caught your eye looks fabulous! No doubt that I would bake this first thing if I have the same cookbook as yours. 😀

    Great treat to bring to feed the crowd of FF! 😀 Thank you! Have a wonderful weekend!

    1. I love recipe books, well actually baking book. ( I don’t really follow exact recipe when I am cooking, so there is not much point on having one. But I got a couple of Japanese cookbook.) I was really excited to try a recipe from the book, and I was happy that it was as tasty as it looked on the book!

  2. I also am so into buttermilk these days, used it for doughs, pastry, pancake batter. It gives such a nice moisture to the dough….pretty sure your cake was really good!

    1. It’s you, Sabine! Your post about buttermilk bread hooked me in! I’ll write a post about bread I baked with buttermilk soon, but THANK YOU for teaching me to use buttermilk for more baking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

