Gluten Free Mascarpone Cream Cake

I was asked to make a gluten free cake for a friend’s relative, and I did a trial when my friends came for lunch last month (The post about this order coming soon. )

The order was for gluten free vanilla Victoria sponge, with mascarpone cream and fruits. I baked gluten free Victoria sponge before, and I am happy with it.  The points I needed to test were mascarpone cream and if I can make a night before and refrigerate and bring back to room temperature.

P1070390 (640x481)

I filled with mascarpone cream and strawberry jam, left berry for decoration.

P1070394 (640x481)

The sponge is made with Dove’s gluten free self-raising flour. Gluten free sponge is slightly crumblier than normal flour sponge, but it is still moist and tasty.

I think the recipe for the sponge is depending on what type of gluten free flour you have, so please refer to the instruction on the packet you can get hold of.
I found the fairly cake recipe on the Dove’s farm’s gluten free self raising flour very good.

mascarpone cream

  • Servings: enough to fill the layer of 18cm cake
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

mascarpone cheese…….250g
sugar…………………………50g
whipping cream…………150cc
cointreau…………………..1tsp

1. Mix mascarpone cheese with sugar, then add cointreau.
2. Whip the cream to soft peak.
3. Mix the cream into the 1.

Keep in the refrigerator.

I was happy with mascarpone cream with this trial, and refrigerating the cake seems to work well. I was worried that cooling the sponge will make them hard, but it came back to soft  texture after being left in a room temperature for a while.

Big baking day came and gone, I’m write a post for this Friday.

8 thoughts on “Gluten Free Mascarpone Cream Cake

    1. I used to use mascarpone only with tiramis, but I had mascarpone with strawberries and honey at Italian restaurant once and I started to using it for different dessert. It works very well with many fruits. 🙂 Thanks for the comment, Lori!

    1. This cream works very nice with those summer berries. Dove’s self-raising GF flour has xanthan gum in already, so it gives quite good bake. Thank you for coming around, Fae-san. 🙂

Leave a Reply

