Gluten Free Naked Summer Wedding Cake

Don’t worry, no one is naked here.
Yes, we all got clothes on.
You can open your eyes now. (see, you were looking between your fingers, otherwise how do you know if I said to open your eyes.)

Only the thing naked is the cake.

Is that new term? I don’t know, but apparently, layered cakes without any icing seemed to  be called ‘Naked Cake’.

Special occasion cakes often has butter cream icing and regal/fondant icing covering exterior. But those icing can be sickly sweet.  I often peel off the icing and eat sponge and cream. I thought it was because I was from Japan and not used to those type of cake.  But apparently it wasn’t only me. There must have been many people dislike icing on the cake.

I was asked to make a gluten free naked cake, for a friend’s relative’s wedding.

A wedding cake.

This was why I was doing a trail (which I posted about here). It’s a big deal. I couldn’t mess up.

The bride and groom are lovely couple, and asked me to make my usual gluten free Victoria sponge which they had eaten before, then fill them with mascarpone cream and summer berries.

The wedding was in July, in a beautiful garden of Mount Stewart (National Trust).

They are having a simple family wedding, just ceremony and coffee+cake later on, so rustic summer feeling of naked cake fitted the theme very well.

I did trial and I know I was fine.
But I had a mishap of shopping, I got to know that Dove’s gluten free self-raising flour does not simply equal to Dove’s g/f plain flour + baking powder. S.R flour also contains xanthan gum, so it gives better texture than just using plain flour + baking powder, which was good but not quite perfect. (Thanks to my lovely helping husband it was all sorted.)

I baked layers of the cake, and sandwiched cream and fruits a night before, kept each tiers wrapped and refrigerated till next day.

On the day, my good friend minded my boys for me, and off I went with cakes. Each rumps and turn, I was so worried that the cake will be moving about and being squashed. I do not know how professional cake decorators deliver their cakes, or do they simply have strong hearts?

I get to the garden well ahead of the time, and stuck up the tier and decorated the cake with lots of fruits and bit of mint.

Well, the setting was so lovely. A simple wedding in such a beautiful surrounding.
Sunny July day in a historic garden, full of flours and greens. What more do you want for a wedding?
I really enjoy decorating the cake under a little white gazebo in a beautiful garden.

The results.

P1070562 (481x640)

Gluten free Naked Summer Wedding Cake

P1070565 (640x481)

I used strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, blackberries from shop, and white currents from my garden. I added some mint for colour.

Sponge is gluten free victoria, cream is mascarpone cream.  Strawberry jam is also hiding between the cream.

P1070564 (481x640)

I run out of the battery of the camera, so I couldn’t take good shots of surrounding garden, but it was beautiful garden filled with bright summer flowers. Naked cake really suited the occasion.

P1070566 (640x481)

Congratulation to M&M.

Happily ever after.

and as for the rest of us, Happy Fiesta Friday! (I had to skip a few weeks, but I am back to the party this week. Thank you for Angie and co-hosts.)
and happy weekend to all!!

56 thoughts on “Gluten Free Naked Summer Wedding Cake

    1. Thank you, Jess. I think its natural look suited the wedding in the garden very well. I am not big fan of thick icing myself, so I like the idea of naked cake, too. 🙂

  1. That is the best dressed naked cake I have ever seen – simply beautiful. We’re so glad you were able to make it back to FF. I’m sure that cake will be a big hit.

    1. Thank you for co-hosting Fiesta Friday this week! I was a bit busy and not so organised to write any posts recently, but I am glad that I managed to join the party this week. 🙂 Thanks for your comment.

      1. Hi Weebirdie- not sure if you saw it on our blog but we took inspiration from your cake and made a naked coconut cake with coconut cream frosting! Just wanted to say thank you for the inspiration & idea! xx

      2. Oh thanks, Aditi. Sorry I couldn’t reply sooner. I had a holiday in August, and I was a bit slow last few weeks, getting back into my usual life. Still quite slow, but well, back to blog today at least!! 🙂 Thank you for your kind comment.

    1. This type of cake for summer wedding seems very popular now. I had a friend who just went to a wedding and had a naked cake. It suits summer, rustic, informal wedding, I think. Thanks for coming around, Fae-san.

    1. Thank you. I had my wedding in March and there were hardly any flowers out, apart from a few crocus. When I was decorating the cake in the garden, I wished if I had a wedding in summer! It was amazing. But I guess that’s depending on the weather of the day, it can be really wet in July as well. (at least it will be warm & wet in July!) They were lucky and they had a wonderful day.

  2. FABULOUS!! What an honor to make this special cake too. It is perfect!! Did you use skewers to keep the layers aligned, or was refrigerating the components helpful enough? I need some tips! 🙂

    1. I did both, so that cake was fine for transporting and stacking up the tiers. I put 3 cake-pop sticks (plastic lollipop sticks) each in bottom two tiers. Refrigeration definitely worked well as well, when I took the cakes out from fridge it was solid, no worries about the layers sliding, then it soften as it came back to room temperature slowly. hope this helps. 🙂

    1. Oh, I was so nervous until I got the cake on the place. I even got hives from being so stressed a night before, couldn’t sleep much at all! After-all, I am so relieved and the glad that bride and groom were happy with the cake.

  3. I think your naked cake has a pretty little berry dress on! Bet it was all eaten up in a minute… 😉 What a happy couple your friends must be to get such an impressive wedding cake!

    1. Thank you for the comment, Sabine. The friend’s family orders the cake with me for special occasion time to time, as this groom (my friend’s brother-in-law) is celiac, and cannot eat shop bought cakes. It is honer for me to be able to do a cake for a big occasion as a wedding!

  4. This cake looks absolutely awesome! I love that the ‘naked’ cake was dressed with fresh fruits! And I have to admit I had never heard the term ‘naked cake’ until now. ! But hey this one sure looks great! What a treat to all the wedding guests – the setting looked so beautiful too. i am sure your friend must have been so happy.! Thanks for bringing this to Fiesta Friday. Happy partying! And so glad to have you back on FF 🙂

    1. I only started to seeing this term ‘naked cake’ last couple of years probably. It really works well for summer wedding, especially in a garden. One of my friend told me that they were attending a wedding last month and the bride+groom had a naked cake as well. It must be popular! Thank you for co-hosting this week’s FF. 🙂

  5. This is gorgeous! I just made a naked cake today for a friend’s birthday, but nothing in comparison to your professional skills. 🙂 thanks for sharing!

  6. Oh my goodness, I have seen a few naked cakes on Pinterest but yours is spectacular! Absolutely beautiful – you must be so proud and your friends must have been thrilled – bet it didn’t last long. Clever you to do a trial run first and how interesting that refrigerating the layers helped to keep them solid and stable. I’ve watched the Cake Boss transport cakes in their van and I think that in some cases, someone actually sits in the back with the cake – my heart could definitely not take it! Thank you so much for sharing this with us – happy Fiesta Friday!

    1. Thank you for coming around. My heart was jumping at every rumps of the road! It was good that I was doing a naked cake and each tier was to be assemble at the venue. Otherwise, no chance. I don’t have van or space to put anyone in my back of my car! I need to invent the way to transport cake really safely by myself to give me a peace in my mind. Thanks for your kind comment, Selma.

    1. Yeah, you can bake quite good sponge with this Dove’s gluten free self raising flour. The guests at the wedding were also surprised that the cake was gluten free. 🙂 Thanks.

  7. ive just sent the link of this to my mum along with the wedding venue national trust place hehe.how sad is that.i am planning my sister future wedding and throwing this straight at them!!:D

  8. I love this cake and your writing. Here is my strategy when delivering any type of food to friends (as I sometimes have occasion to do): wrap it tight, drive carefully at first and almost have heart attack, then towards the end say “oh well – here we go!” and drive faster. I don’t know why I think this works.

    1. Thanks for comment, Heather. I piped cream with round nozzle, some jam in the middle as well, and cleaned the edge with a small pallet knife (Actually, a small dessert knife, as I didn’t have small pallet knife). That’s it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

