Garibaldi Biscuits

I always got a packet of raisins in my cupboard. If not raisins, sultanas or currents would be there. It goes in to my bread or cakes, sometime it becomes rum raisins. But I had never made them into Garibaldi biscuits until recently.

It came suddenly to me one day, ‘I like Garibaldi biscuits, why haven’t I thought about making them myself before?’ So, I checked online and made them.

P1100439-2

I used the recipe from Delia Online, Garibaldi Biscuits.

It was a great success, my family liked them apart from my big son who doesn’t like raisins. It is slightly different from shop bought ones, but it is tasty nonetheless.

I had some as soon as it was baked, and then later with my friends. And the rest went into a cookie jar, but disappeared soon after. Its combination of plain not-so-sweet biscuit base and sweet raisins is seriously moreish.

P1100437-2

It’s surprisingly easy and tasty, worth making a few batch.

When I was munching on those little biscuits, I remembered that there were raisin biscuits similar to Garibaldi biscuits always sitting in a cupboard when I was little. It was like a big sister of Garibaldi, bit chunkier and chewier. I wondered what was it called, but I cannot remember the name. Now that I had made Garibaldi biscuits, I’d love to try making that biscuit from my memory sometime soon.

I’m in Fiesta Friday this week agian, hosted by Angie @ The Novice Gardner, and co-hosts are Jhuls @The Not So Creative Cook and Mila @milkandbun. Thank you for hosting FF!

Have a happy weekend!

16 thoughts on “Garibaldi Biscuits

    1. Never heard them? It must be UK thing then. It’s rectangle, flat biscuits with lots of raisin/currents inside. Shop bought one usually have raisins squashed between biscuits dough. It’s a lovely biscuit if you like raisins. 🙂

  1. These look wonderful, weebirdie! I’ve never had a Garibaldi biscuit…are they crispy or soft? Here in the states, the plumper raisins are called “baking raisins”. However, I have found that soaking regular raisins in boiling water for several minutes really plumps them up… perfect for baking!

    1. Garibaldi is crispy biscuit but chewy inside with lots of raisins. We don’t have ‘baking raisins’ as such in UK, some looks more plumper than others, but it’s depends on brands I guess. I love soaking them in rum… 🙂

  2. It is my first time to hear about these biscuits. I love raisins and I love it with oatmeal cookies. I bet these biscuits are so delicious. Thanks so much for sharing. Have a fun FF. 😉

  3. I always have varieties of raisins in my pantry (which is my refrigerator) too. I did not know these yummy cookies were called garibaldi biscuits. Thank you for the recipe. Your blog’s new look is very nice! Variety is always refreshing, isn’t it? 🙂

    1. Thank you, Fae-san. It is called or known as Garibaldi biscuits in here, UK. There might be another name in different county. I am trying to remember the name of raisin biscuits very similar to garibaldi sold in Japan…. ( they were much chunkier and bigger), so that I can recreate it someday.

  4. I’ve never seen Garibaldi biscuits before! I ought to try making them since they look delicious!
    I also particularly like the rectangular shape–that makes them look so appealing to eat 🙂 How do you think these would be with currants instead of raisins?

    1. Current or raisin, or sultana all works fine. (Now I come to think of it, I am not quite sure if I had used raisin or current for this picture. ) Garibaldi is always rectangular, as far as I know. They are perfect with a cup of tea!

    1. It’s crisp biscuits but raisin or currents make them a bit chewy. 🙂 I guess this is old fashion biscuits, shop bought one is quite sweet, but this recipe’s biscuit base isn’t so sweet and perfect with sweet raisins.

Leave a Reply

